August 2013 Birchbox

IMG_6750IMG_6752


It’s that time again (or, as far as this blog is concerned, it’s that time…haha). Birchbox, time!

Let me start out by saying that Birchbox has seriously let me down this month. I live all the way across the country from their shipping location, so I don’t mind waiting a little longer than most to get my box, but we’re well into August and I just got my box TODAY. Well, yesterday, when this blog goes up. Sigh.

Anyway, enough whinging.

Let’s start out with the ModelCo Party Proof Lipstick. A set of 3 will cost you $24, and it’s described as “a semi-matte lipstick that delivers both hydration and lasting pigment”.

IMG_6760
The shade I got is Dusk Till Dawn and is in their Neutrals collection. When I opened it, I’ll be honest, I was a little horrified. I’m used to seeing reds and pinks when I receive lip products in my BB, so I was bit surprised when I saw this mauve-y brown in the tube. However, when I swatched it on my wrist, it really came to life. It’s got shades of pink and (call me crazy) peach, and some gold shimmer, and it really is pretty. I don’t own any nude lipsticks, so I think this will be a nice one to add to my collection for Autumn.

I also got the Miss Jessie’s Original Rapid Recovery and Super Sweetback Treatment. Each will run you $26 for a full size.

IMG_6762

Apparently, the Super Sweetback encourages hair growth, and the Rapid Recovery smoothes and repairs. I’ve had pretty good luck with Miss Jessie’s products, so I’m looking forward to using these.

Next up is the Violet Oasis 100% Organic Argan Oil, $39.95 for a full size.

IMG_6764

“Star Moroccan import that feeds skin and hair with vitamin E and essential fatty acids”. I’m not sure how I’m going to feel about this. It seems to me that I keep getting Argan oils from BB, and I’m never that impressed. If I’m honest, this will probably get tucked into one of the boxes I keep in my bathroom, and I’ll forget about it until I’m looking for minis for a trip.

Last up are the Whish Hair Inhibiting Deodorant Swipes and Exfoliating Body Wash, $16 and $22 respectively.

IMG_6761

Here’s my problem, albeit not a huge one. I think I was supposed to get the Whish Coconut Milk Correcting Gel, but I got the body wash instead. I don’t care too much, because I’m more likely to use what I received anyway…still, it’s a bit of an oversight. Whatever. Anyway, I have no idea what a deodorant swipe is, but I really don’t see myself using anything like that, though, as I said, the body wash sounds nice. I’ve enjoyed the Whish products I’ve received in the past, so I imagine this will be tagging along in my travel bag.

So that’s it, sort of hit and miss, as per usual with BB, but I’ll see how it goes.

Happy August!

One thought on “August 2013 Birchbox

Leave a Reply

