Pumpkin and Apple Cider Doughnuts

IMG_7124

I know it’s still technically summer. And I know it must be super annoying with everyone jumping on the autumn bandwagon and cooking soups, and chili, and pumpkin everything. But I don’t care. I’m protesting summer, officially. See me, world, standing on a lonely sidewalk while the sun glares down at me and my picket sign reading “Summer Is For Suckers” while I chant, “What do we want? Autumn! When do we want it? ALL YEAR LONG!” You see, I’m alone, so I have to say both parts. Sigh.

IMG_7079

Anyway, the point is this: I’m well into fall baking. And I’ve had a bit of an infatuation with doughnuts recently, so the two have just come together and made two really delicious lovechildren.

These pumpkin doughnuts. Oh lawd, get in my mouth. Say you don’t have a doughnut pan (which I would highly recommend getting because, let’s face it, it makes eating cake more fun), you can totally just use a cupcake pan or whatever. You won’t have doughnuts, but you’ll have really delicious cupcakes.

IMG_7081

I didn’t really know what I was getting into when I made my first batch, so I followed this recipe from King Arthur Flour.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and gather your ingredients.

½ cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
1 ½ cups canned pumpkin puree
1 ½ teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 ½ teaspoons salt
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 ¾ cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Mix together the vegetable oil, eggs, sugar, pumpkin, spices, and baking powder, and then add in the flour and mix until smooth. Fill a greased pan about 3/4 of the way full, and put them in the oven for about 15-18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. The original recipe says this will make about 15 donuts, but I found that it easily makes 15 plus about 18 mini doughnuts. So, yeah, way more than 15 haha.

IMG_7088

When I made these, the tops ended up coming out a little crunchy and flat, so I turned them over and dipped them in a cinnamon/sugar mix.  I used a vanilla infused sugar, because I’m vanilla-obsessed, and quite a bit of cinnamon. Let’s face it, cinnamon is easily the tastiest spice. Goodness. It’s like autumn exploded in your mouth.

So, I wasn’t sure those could be topped. I mean, come on. Pumpkin doughnuts. Life really does not get much more delicious. Except that, yes, it does.

IMG_7075

These apple cider doughnuts might have to become a year-round thing at my house, they’re that good.

I just adapted the King Arthur Flour recipe, and swapped out some pumpkin things for apple things.

IMG_7076

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and gather your ingredients.

½ cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
1 ½ cups apple butter
1 ½ teaspoons apple cider mix
1 ½ teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
1 ½ teaspoons salt
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 ¾ cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Mix together the vegetable oil, eggs, sugar, apple butter, cider mix,  pumpkin pie spice, salt, and baking powder, and then add in the flour and mix until smooth. Fill a greased pan about 3/4 of the way full, and put into the oven.

IMG_7086

I had to bake these for a little longer, and upped the time to 18-20 minutes, but again, bake these until a toothpick comes out clean. Although the original recipe says you want a pumpkin puree that’s similar in texture to apple butter, apple butter is just more wet, if that makes sense. It’s not as dense and needs a little more time to hang out in the oven. No big deal. And as I said before, it should make at least 15 regular doughnuts, and several mini doughnuts.

Maybe I’ll take a break from the picket line and indulge in some treats. Get lost summer!

Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin and Apple Cider Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

