Pumpkin Spice Creamer

Pumpkin Spice Creamer

I am obsessed with the pumpkin syrup from Starbucks. The second it became available this year (and last year, and probably the year before that) I was in line waiting to get a grande iced coffee with nonfat milk and 2 pumps of pumpkin syrup. All of the flavor, none of the guilt. Double win.

IMG_7204

Anyway, I cannot justify going to Starbucks every day to get my fix, so I had to come up with a way to get some pumpkin in my system, and not spend a gagillion dollars every week. Enter homemade pumpkin spice creamer.

IMG_7220

I actually substituted the whole milk in this recipe for my usual 1%, and the creamer was just as delicious, but if you’re not a calorie counter or just want to have a special treat on hand, by all means, use whole milk. I wasn’t sure about substituting anything for the heavy cream at first, but have since read that it tastes just as amazing with fat free half and half instead of heavy cream. Bonus.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup milk
1 cup heavy cream (or half and half)
4 tablespoons canned pureed pumpkin
4-6 tablespoons maple syrup*
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
½ teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Here’s what you do:

1. In a saucepan, whisk together milk, cream, pumpkin, maple syrup, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon over medium heat. When the mixture begins to steam, remove from heat and mix in the vanilla.

2. Transfer the liquid to a glass container, using a fine mesh strainer. I would recommend straining  two to three times, otherwise you’ll end up with chunks in your creamer. No thanks.

3. Allow it to cool in the refrigerator. The flavor will intensify overnight.

4. Enjoy!

*Regarding the maple syrup, the higher the quality, the better this will taste. Also, adjust the measurements according to how sweet you like your cream or coffee. I don’t like to add sugar to my coffee, but that’s because my usual creamer is on the sweet side. I would add 6 tablespoons, 7 if I was feeling gutsy.

Recipe adapted from DeliciouslyOrganic

Leave a Reply

