DIY Coffee Scrub

IMG_7378

When I was young I was quite a tomboy. I didn’t have even a passing interest in fashion or beauty until I was about sixteen, and it didn’t really come to a head until a few years ago. So you can imagine how bored I was when, at about 12 years old, my mom took me to a class on making your own body scrubs.

IMG_7247

First of all, I had never even heard of such a thing, and secondly, everyone in there, aside from my mom, was at least in their 40s. Plus, I was a bratty pre-teen, and thought I was too cool to hang out with her. What a toolbox.

IMG_7250

Flash forward 13 years and I am obsessed with making my own body scrubs. I haven’t bought one in probably 9 months or so, and the moisture benefit I get from this coffee scrub is much more substantial than any I’ve ever bought. I love that you can play around with this and figure out which balance is right for you, plus the added benefit of making your own scent. Seriously, scrubs are impossible to screw up, so every time I make one, it’s a tiny bit different than before. This is the basic recipe I use, but depending on how my skin has been since the last one, I change it up.

IMG_7271

What you need:

1 ½ cups coffee grounds
½ cup brown sugar
1/8 cup almond oil
¼ cup melted shea butter
1-1 ½ tsp cinnamon (optional)
1 tsp cardamom (optional)
Or
3-5 drops essential oil (optional)

What you do:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a medium bowl. It will be a sloppy mess; that’s okay.
  2. Pour your scrub into a glass jar or container and let it set, or use it immediately.

I keep mine in the shower, because nothing in it should go bad, but I try to not get any water in it. Feel free to keep it in the refrigerator. The shea butter should harden, so it will be more paste-like once it’s set, but remember, this will be super messy, so expect to spray your shower down after you use it.

If you try this, I would love to know if you change anything, and how it works for you!

Happy scrubbing!

P.S.
I made this one for my mom, because she’s supafly. Love you, mama!

P.P.S.
I got my shea butter here and my almond oil here.

Leave a Reply

