September 2013 Birchbox

IMG_7225   IMG_7227

Birchbox time already?

I always look forward to pulling that bright pink parcel out of my mailbox. I had high hopes for this box, as it’s September and the start of fall, and I figured the ladies at BB would be on top of things. It was a bit hit and miss, which is par for the course with Birchbox, I’ve decided.

The theme of this box is Heritage, and celebrating the history each brand has to offer, which is appropriate as Birchbox is celebrating its third anniversary this month.

But let’s just get to it, shall we?

IMG_7228

The first thing I saw was this Serge Normant Meta Luxe Hair Spray. It’s advertised as an “airy mist that keeps your ‘do smooth and frizz-free, and also shields strands from UV rays.”

First thing’s first, you know how you’re meant to reapply sunscreen every few hours or so to really reap the rewards of UV protection? Does that also apply to hairspray? I would assume so, but obviously that would leave you with helmet hair. I’m not sure how well it would work for that, but that’s a small point.

This was a convenient sample to get because I’m going away for two week soon and was all out of travel size hairspray. Thanks, Birchbox.

Full size: $25
Sample size: $6.66

IMG_7229

Next is the Ruffian Nail Lacquer in Fox Hunt.

These nail Lacquers come in six shades: nude, purple, deep red, a metallic-y green, black, and the one I got, burnt orange . I normally find orange nail polish kind of obnoxious, and this isn’t a color I would have ever gravitated toward. Actually, after having viewed the rest of the colors, I’m not really a fan of any of them. I’m willing to give this a try, but orange just doesn’t really go well with my skin tone, so I don’t have high hopes.

Full size: $10
Sample size: $10

IMG_7230

I also got the Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips. This is ideal. I’ve been toying with the idea of getting this, because I keep reading rave reviews about it, and I think it would be really good for my lips and cuticles. I’m really excited about trying this stuff out.

Full size: $14.50
Sample size: $2.91

IMG_7237

Next up is the BCBGMAXAZRIA Bon Genre. I’ll be honest with you here…I never have high hopes for any of the perfume samples they send me. It could just be that I’m super picky about what I smell like (seriously, can you blame me?). I sprayed this once, and decided it’s not for me. It’s sort of a heavy scent, but that’s about as well as I’ll be able to explain it. The notes for it say it’s a mix of lychee and jasmine noir, if that helps any.

Full size: $55-$75
Sample size: $11.03

IMG_7233

Finally, the one I’m probably most excited about, the Costal Scents Eye Shadow quad. This is a complimentary set of 4 eye shadows that is meant to easily take you from day to night.

I received set 31 Queen of Hearts. In it is Sundried, Victorian Ruby, Fine Wine, and Vintage Burgundy. These shades are beautiful. I’ve mentioned before that my day-to-day look is very neutral, and sometimes I don’t even bother with eye shadow, but I might have to make an exception with these. Plus, they’re so conveniently sized that I’ll definitely be taking these with me on my travels.

Full size: $34-$39
Sample size: $1.76

September box total: $29.45

Another month done and dusted. Can anybody seriously believe we’re already practically through September? I swear Independence Day was like, 3 weeks ago.

Anyway, I liked a few more things in this box than I usually do, and am really looking forward to using several of these products. What did you get in your Birchbox? Were you satisfied?

Happy September!

One thought on “September 2013 Birchbox

Leave a Reply

