September 2013 Favorites

IMG_7278

I’m never going to be that person who lives to work, and I will probably always complain about it. But despite my excessive whingeing, I’ve really loved this month.  It’s been getting progressively cooler (I say “cooler” – it’s still in the 90s most days, but that’s better than 100s, eh?), and there’s the build up to The Englishman’s visit, and I don’t know what it is about autumn, but it feels so fresh and amazing to me. I know most people start to really get into the swing of the year in the spring, but for me it’s always been fall. It makes me feel giddy and bubbly inside. Does anybody else feel that way, or is it just me?

I’ll stop rambling. I feel like I’ve been using and loving a really great mix of products this month, and am super excited to share them.

IMG_7299

The first thing I’ve been absolutely in love with, and have mentioned a trillion times this month (okay, two) is Lady Like by Essie. This is a really beautiful mauve, and I think it’s been a perfect transition color for fall.

IMG_7297

I only switched up my nail color twice this month. I think that says a lot about how much I love Lady Like. But when I have changed, it’s been to Covergirl Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Gloss in Lingering Spice. I’m somewhat reluctant to even post a link to this, because pretty much every picture of it on the internet is wrong. Aside from personal reviews, I’ve yet to find a photo of this color that isn’t a deep purple. It may be a bit darker in the bottle than it is on the nails, but it certainly isn’t purple. I’d say it’s slightly darker than strawberry, and the gloss you get with this thing is pretty incredible. This is going to be a great autumn polish for me.

IMG_7294

I’ve been really into this Mint Julips Lip Scrub from Lush. I tend to use this on a semi-regular basis but thought it deserved a special mention this month. I’ve made my own lip scrubs in the past, but I always come back to this simply because I love the way it smells.

IMG_7301

Next in my lip care routine is Nuxe Rêve de Miel Baume Lèvres – Lip Balm. I’ve already mentioned how much I love this product, but I especially love it after I’ve used the Lush lip scrub. The two things really are a power duo.

IMG_7394

It would be seriously crazy of me to not include this Revlon Lip Butter in Raspberry Pie. I have been positively obsessed for pretty much the entire month. I’m not going to go on about it too much, but definitely check out my review on it here. This color is absolutely gorgeous.

IMG_7381

Last in the lip line-up is this Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm in Pink Pout. I’ve been passing by these in the drugstore for several weeks, but when I finally saw Estee from EssieButton mention them in a video, and actually saw the color pay off, I figured I’d give it a go. Lip gloss isn’t really my thang, but I’ve actually really been enjoying this product, and it’s a nice change of pace from my usual bold lip. Be on the lookout for a review.

IMG_7303

The next product I’ve been obsessed with this month is the Revlon Lash Potion Volume & Length Mascara in Blackened Brown. I had trouble getting on with this when I first started using it, because the brush is so much bigger than what I’m used to, not to mention it’s been ages since I’ve used a natural bristle brush. But after a little finessing, and realizing I need to scrape a lot of the product back into the tube, I’ve really grown to love this. They don’t lie when they say it gives volume and length; this stuff is amazing.

IMG_7302

I cleaned out and reorganized my makeup drawer and carousel recently and rediscovered some things, one being this Physicians Formula Mineral Wear blush in Rosy Glow. Now, I’m about 98% sure I’ve never purchased anything from PF, but I can’t for the life of me remember who gave this to me, but whoever it was, thank you! This is one of the longest lasting blushes I’ve ever used, and I have a feeling this would look great on a ton of skin tones.

IMG_7306

When I bought this Fresh Picked Hard Working Hand & Body Cream in Wild Mint, I was mostly expecting to use it as a hand cream. Actually, this has become my go-to body lotion for the month. It doesn’t leave my skin greasy at all, and the scent really stays with you. Normally I’d say this isn’t enough product to continually use as a body lotion, but I’m really glad I picked it up because it’s perfect to travel with.

IMG_7295

Last, but certainly not least, is the Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment. I really don’t think I can praise this product enough. This is a sample I got in a Birchbox a while back, but I don’t really think I’ll ever be going without this product. I don’t use it all the time, but when I do I always thing, “God, Kayleigh, you fool, you really need to use this more.” It gives my hair such amazing shine and silkiness, and when combined with the hair mask and/or leave-in treatment (which are both just as amazing as this), the results are magnified 10 fold. Seriously, if you haven’t tried this stuff, I’m begging you to. And what’s especially great is that you don’t have to even buy a full size. Ulta sells a sample size, and it’ll last you forever.

That’s it for September. I’m so excited to see what October will bring, and I just love the build-up to the holidays. What products have you been loving this month?

Happy October!

One thought on “September 2013 Favorites

Leave a Reply

