Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm Review

I’m not a lip gloss girl. I haven’t really ever been, actually. For a while there was that trend for super high-gloss lips, and I just don’t have any desire to walk around like I’ve just had really greasy Chinese for lunch. And glosses are sticky. I hate when there’s barely a breeze, and my entire mouth gets covered in my hair. No thanks, glosses aren’t for me.

Except that I just bought one, and I really, really like it. What?

IMG_7381  IMG_7385

The Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm was something I’d been cruising right on by in the drugstore for weeks, but I finally saw EssieButton do a quick review on a few shades and decided that I’d see what they were about (the fact that I had a half-off coupon also helped sway me).

Anyway, after browsing the shade selection, I settled on Pink Pout. This is a bright pink with tiny blueish-purple shimmer that I’d say is mostly only noticeable in the tube, and the smell is pretty great – just like cotton candy. Almay says that this product offers 2x more hydration and 194% more moisture versus bare lips. I say that it’s not nearly as hydrating as a lip balm, but for a gloss, it ain’t bad.

What I love most, though, is that with one swipe, this product is pretty sheer, which is a nice change of pace from my usual bold lip, but that it’s also really easy to build it up. Personally, I would never want to use as much as I suspect you’d need to, to get completely opaque coverage, but two or three swipes will get you a nice pink hue.

It is a gloss, though, so yeah, there’s been hair stuck to my lips, and the wear time isn’t fantastic. Overall, though, I’d definitely recommend this to somebody who’s looking for a sheer lip color.

3 thoughts on “Almay Color + Care Liquid Lip Balm Review

  1. Pingback: October 2013 Birchbox | Petal Loves Goose

Leave a Reply

