Summer 2013 Empties

Empties posts and videos are my favorite by a long shot. I love to see what products people are actually using up, and whether or not they’d repurchase. That’s the seller for me. If someone is willing to stick with a certain product, there must be something great about it, right?

So I’d been wanting to do an empties post for a while, but I wanted it to be meaty, none of that one-or-two-products business. I’ve tentatively decided to do a seasonal empties post, because not only will it have a decent amount of products in it, but you’ll get an idea of what products I gravitate towards as the weather changes. Plus, my empties bag was starting to get embarrassingly full, so it’s time haha.

Hair Products

IMG_7707

L’Oréal EverCrème Sulfate-Free Moisture System Shampoo and Conditioner.

I’ve gone on and on about how much I love this system. It’s probably the best drugstore shampoo and conditioner I’ve ever used, by a huge margin. The shampoo gets my hair  incredibly clean without making it feel stripped, and the shampoo keeps it silky smooth. I’ve actually repurchased this twice, but these were the only bottles I kept.

Verdict: Love it.

L’Oréal EverPure Sulfate-Free Color Care System Moisture Deep Restorative Masque

I’d searched my entire town for the EverCrème masque, but to no avail. I eventually settled on the EverPure one, mostly because I wanted to try something. It was decent, but I can’t remember ever feeling really wowed over it.  It could be because I was using two different systems, but it didn’t do much for me.

Verdict: Leave it.

Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie

I’ve praised this product for helping me come to terms with my naturally curly hair (erm…’fro). It gives hold and definition like a gel, without all the crunchiness (the polar opposite of sexy), and it smells amazing. Bonus: this product is formulated without any nasties, so I don’t feel bad about putting it on my sun-dried hair.

Verdict: Love it.

TRESemmé Climate Protection Finishing Spray

Of every humidity resistant hairspray I’ve ever tried, this one works the best. That said, it doesn’t work great. I think that says something. It’s okay for an emergency, but I have to face facts: if there’s more than about 25% humidity anywhere, I won’t have hair, I’ll have a mane. Ah well. I continue to use it, because something is better than nothing, but if anybody has any recommendations, I’ll gladly try anything.

Verdict: Like it.

Soaps and Masks

IMG_7713

Nivea Touch of Happiness Moisturizing Body Wash

I bought this as a guest body wash early in the summer, but I figured I’d just use it up. It’s about what you’d expect a drugstore body wash to be like – it gets you clean, but that’s about it. Really, I don’t know that I have any right to expect a drugstore body wash to do anything else, so in that regard, it’s perfect haha. I have a loose rule about beauty products: the less time a product spends on my body, the less I feel like I ought to fork out a ton of dough for it. Unless it’s a gift, I don’t typically buy high-end washes, which means I’m not really loyal to any particular body wash, and likely won’t ever be.

Verdict: Like it

Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castile Soap in Peppermint

I love Dr. Bronner. I use it for so many things it’s unreal. I loved it as hand soap, I use it as a face wash, I clean my makeup brushes with it, I’ve used it to mop the floor. Seriously, this stuff is incredible. I’ve been on the hunt for the Rose scent, but peppermint was great, and lavender is great. If you haven’t gotten on this train, I’d suggest you do. You won’t turn back.

Verdict: Love it.

J.R. Watkins Naturals Hand Soap in Grapefruit

This stuff smells like you actually just rubbed grapefruit all over your hands. I’ve gotten lots of compliments from visiting friends and family about how great it smells, and wondering where they could find it. I have yet to find a J.R. Watkins product I haven’t loved. The one downside to this was that I found it didn’t lather as much as I would have liked. Still, I’ve already repurchased it.

Verdict: Love it.

Neutrogena Naturals Fresh Cleansing + Makeup Remover

I’ve been really liking the Neutrogena Naturals line. I use this wash at night, and their regular face wash in the mornings, and my skin has been looking pretty great. They list their ingredients on back, but go a step further by telling you what it’s derived from and what it’s for. I appreciate that. Anyway, this isn’t the only cleanser in my regime, but it’s one that I don’t plan on giving up any time soon.

Verdict: Love it.

Lush Dark Angels Charcoal Scrub

To be honest, I couldn’t get through this. The smell was nauseating, and I didn’t feel like it was doing anything magical for my skin. Plus, I don’t think there was ever a use by date on it, so I just decided to toss it.

Verdict: Leave it.

Avon Foot Works Berry Mint Scrub

There isn’t much to say about this. It smelled like berry and mint, which was sometimes pleasing and sometimes disgusting lol. I don’t think it was a rough enough scrub to be a foot scrub. It actually felt fine enough that I considered using it on my face…but the smell put me off. I feel bad about throwing this out, because it was a gift, but I just couldn’t finish it.

Verdict: Leave it.

Moisturizers

IMG_7693

Aveeno Active Naturals Smart Essentials Nighttime Moisture Infusion and Daily Nourishing Moisturizer

I really enjoy using these two things together. The nighttime moisturizer is actually pretty fantastic, but now that the weather’s changing I want something a smidge thicker. The daytime moisturizer is pretty decent too, though I felt like the amount you get per tube isn’t always similar to other brands. Anyway, both were really good in their own right. I’d definitely recommend.

Verdict: Like it.

Makeup

IMG_7708

Not long ago I cleaned up my makeup collection and decided to toss several things I knew I’d never use. I want to start out by just giving a blanket review to several foundations that I never finished.

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse in Nude Light 4
Rimmel London Clean Finish Foundation in 380 Sand
L’Oréal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup in Natural Buff N3
Revlon ColorStay for Combination/Oily Skin in 330 Natural Tan

First and foremost, all of these foundations were too pink for me. I have quite a bit of yellow pigmentation, and it seems more pronounced in summer when I’m a bit tan. Anyway, I’d had all of these floating around for a long time, and decided enough was enough. I do remember that the Rimmel London foundation was the thickest thing I’d ever put on my face, so much so that it actually comes out on a spatula (wtf?). I hated the way it felt. I got through a decent amount of the Maybelline foundation, but it had been sitting for so long that I was reluctant to try it again. And I know people rave about the Revlon ColorStay foundation, but I was always sort of between shades, which was super disappointing for me.

Verdict (for all 4): Leave it.

 

L’Oréal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup in Natural Beige W4

This is my favorite drugstore foundation. I actually really love the whole line because of the shade selection; they actually considered warm skin tones while creating it. I love that it’s thin, which means in the summer I can mix it with my moisturizer for a custom tint, or build it up to a medium coverage in the fall. The one thing it’s missing is a pump lol.

Verdict: Love it.

L’Oréal Studio Secrets Magic Perfecting Base

This actually isn’t a bad primer. It’s not as silky as the Benefit Porefessional primer, but it’s not far off either. It sits well on top of my moisturizer, and my brushes don’t tug or pull after I’ve used it. I wouldn’t say rush out and replace your favorite primer with this one, but it’s not bad for a cheaper alternative.

Verdict: Like it.

Maybelline One By One Mascara

I like to play around with mascara, and it’s rare that I buy one and continue to repurchase it for an extended amount of time. I really did like this mascara, and felt like my lashes were feathery and light after I used it. I would recommend it, but there are so many other mascaras out there that I’m not sure I’ll repurchase any time soon.

Verdict: Like it.

Fibre Lashxtend Extreme Black Lengthening Mascara

I loved this. I can’t even tell you how long my lashes were when I used it, but they were long enough for people to notice. It was pretty weird to wash it off at night and have all these little tubes come off in my hands, but that’s a small point. This stuff worked like charm, and as is the way with mascara, seemed to work even better when it had dried up a bit. I would absolutely recommend this, but as I mentioned before, there are a ton out there and I just can’t be tied down right now lol.

Verdict: Like it.

Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

I’m probably the only person in the world who thinks this, but I wasn’t sure what all the fuss was about with this product. I honestly didn’t notice whether my makeup lasted longer or not. I’m interested in trying their oil-control setting spray – that may be more up my street, but I wasn’t impressed with this.

Verdict: Leave it.

 

 

I’m going to keep telling myself that that wasn’t an unusually high amount of products, considering it was over several months. I’ve got to say though, I’ll be glad to not see judgment in people’s eyes when they see I’ve got a bag full trash sitting in the corner of my room (she says, as if she doesn’t already have two things to throw into said bag) haha.

What are some products you typically use up, and are there any products you are consistently loyal to? I’d love to know if you’ve used any of these products and what you thought of them.

Happy collecting!

Leave a Reply

