October 2013 Birchbox

IMG_7733

Spoilers are my nemesis, and I will never understand people who go in search of them. I mean, what’s the point in building hype and excitement about the third book in your favorite series only to ruin it because you can’t hold out for the last 48 hours? The same can be said about Birchbox. I spend about two weeks of every month actively avoiding all instagrams, Facebook posts, blogs, videos, etc. about Birchbox, because they, and their loyals, are blowing my phone up with photos and giveaways. A girl just wants a surprise to stay a surprise, is that so wrong?!

IMG_7735

But it was unavoidable this month. I knew what was coming. Well, I knew a Chapstick was coming, but I could live with that. As if we all don’t have 8 million stashed around our houses anyway, right? So I’m calling this month a win. Kayleigh – 16, Social Media – 0.

Moving right along…

IMG_7740

The product I’m most excited about is the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser. This cleanser, containing goodies like cocoa butter, eucalyptus essential oil and rosemary, has apparently won over 90 beauty awards (hello!) and when you use it in conjunction with the muslin cloth, acts as an exfoliator. Bonus.

Full size – $21.50
Starter kit (includes 2 muslin cloths) – $24.50
Muslin cloths – $6.00
Sample size – $9.52

IMG_7745

I also received the POP Beauty Aqua Lacquer in Splashing Scarlet. It’s pretty, but I’m not really sure how much use I’ll get out of it because it’s a gloss, and as everyone knows, I hate glosses ;-). Anyway, it’s pretty sheer and has quite a bit of red shimmer in it, which just sort of screams 7th grade Christmas dance to me, but I’ll give it a shot.

Full size – $14
Sample size – $14

IMG_7747

I was really pleased to see this Bain de Terre Macadamia Oil Nourishing Conditioner staring up at me from my chevroned box. Because the seasons are changing, my hair is in complete freak-out mode. I’ve heard great things about Bain de Terre, and I imagine this is just the thing to set my hair straight (ba-dum-tsss). Also, it smells so good.

Full size – $13.50
Sample size – $1.70

IMG_7743

Last, but certainly not least, the Chapstick Hydration Lock Moisturizer. I have yet to try this, but, you know, Chapstick is always great and you can’t ever really have enough of them. It ain’t fancy, but it works. Glad to have it.

Full size – $2.99
Sample size – $2.99

Box total – $28.21

Short and sweet this time around – that’s something I can get on board with. For the first time in months I’m pretty happy with the entire box, and am really looking forward to using all of these products (Or, giving them a shot, anyway. I’m looking at you, gloss that promises to have my lips covered in hair.).

Did you love your Birchbox as much as I did this month? What did you get? Let me know!

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “October 2013 Birchbox

  1. I got the gloss too and thought it was pretty hilarious that the Birchbox website claims it to be non-sticky when in reality it’s just the opposite.

Leave a Reply

