Revlon Colorburst Matte and Lacquer Balm Review

IMG_7814

I was so pleased to see the Revlon Colorburst Lacquer and Matte balms in the store last week. I didn’t even know I should be on the lookout for them, but the second I spy a new display in the drugstore, you can bet I’ll be all over it.

I love these because you’ve got a balm for everyone and every occasion. Sometimes a girl just wants a matte lip. But if it isn’t your thang, voila! – Glossy balms too.

So I’ll start by saying that because I didn’t know anything about these products, I didn’t have any major expectations for them to live up to. Both of them are obviously reminiscent of the Kissable Balm Stains, which I love. They have that lovely mint smell, and both go on incredibly smoothly.

 

IMG_7872

The matte shade I picked up is (205) Elusive – a cool-toned bright pink. I do find it quite drying, but that’s somewhat expected with matte lipsticks. The wear time is probably 2-3 hours, which I think is on the low side, but because it’s a retractable lip pencil, it’s easy to reapply. I like matte lipsticks because they’re like a two-in-one. You can always add a gloss over it if you want some shine.

 

IMG_7867

I also got a lacquer balm in (150) Enticing. I LOVE this shade. It’s kind of a brick-red shade, with reddish-gold shimmer. Normally I hate any lip product that has glitter in it – I feel like a 12 year old. It’s pretty unnoticeable on the lips, and even when you swatch it, you’ve got to contort yourself to actually see it haha.

Anyway, I think some people were expecting the lacquer balms to be pretty high gloss, but to be honest, I’m glad they’re not. As you all know, I hate when my lips look wet and greasy, so I’m pleased with the amount of shine they have.

With one swipe, this shade is pretty sheer (although then the glitter is more visible), but it’s easily built up as well, though I’m not sure it would ever be completely opaque.

Like the matte balm, the staying power on this one isn’t great. I think I got about two hours before I had to reapply. I don’t know if anybody else noticed this, but I have a decent stain on my lips after I use this, so bonus!

I’m wondering if Revlon is planning to phase out the Kissable Balm Stains, because what would be the point in having all three? But I have no idea if this is true or not.

Have you picked these up? What do you think about Revlon’s new editions?

3 thoughts on “Revlon Colorburst Matte and Lacquer Balm Review

  1. Pingback: All about Japanese Lacquer and Exquisite Sprinkled Pictures | Autos

  2. Pingback: October 2013 Favorites | Petal Loves Goose

  3. I agree, they are amazing, I LOVE the matte balms. I’m not so keen on the lacquer as the colour payoff was not what I expected but the matte balms are amazing and I really want ALL of the range haha greedy or what!! 😉

Leave a Reply

