October 2013 Favorites

IMG_8009

I feel like I’ve totally been neglecting my blog lately, but it’s so hard to sit down to write when you have the cutest baby in the entire universe running around your house :p. But, The Family Circus is gone now, and it’s already the third of November (!!!), so I figured it was time to buckle down and get a favorites post up.

Because I was on vacation the first half of the month, and recovering from my vacation the second half (does anybody else ever feel like they need a vacation after being on vacation, or is that just me?), this was sort of a lazy month for me. I wasn’t feeling too experimental and didn’t want to try a ton of new products so a few of these are oldies but goodies, with a couple newbies sprinkled in.

 

IMG_8025
First up, I’ve been loving this Maybelline lipstick in (450) Mauve Mania. It’s a beautiful mauve that’s just a bit more purple and richer than my natural lip color, so it looks very “my lips but better” on. It’s one that’s just easy to slap on but still peps up my face a bit, and I’ve got to say, I’ve been loving transitioning into all of my autumn colors. If I’m honest, I’m a bit bold-lipped out after this summer haha.

 

IMG_8024
Secondly, I’ve been constantly reaching for this Almay Liquid Lip Balm in (500) Pink Pout. My go to lip for the last week or so has been the Maybelline lipstick with this layered over it for a bit of shine. It’s a winning combination, I swear.

 

IMG_8033
The last of the lip products I’ve been loving is the Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in (150) Enticing. It’s a very pretty medium-dark, sheer(ish) red that adds a nice bit of pop to my every day makeup look. I won’t go on about it too much, but check out my review on it here. I can’t seem to find a place to buy it online, but I’ll be on the lookout and try to add a link if I can.

 

IMG_8027
Whilst on vacation in April, Goose and I stayed at a hotel that stocked Peter Thomas Roth minis in their bathrooms. You can bet I stashed as many as I could. I didn’t love the shampoo and conditioner, but this Mega-Rich Body Lotion is INCREDIBLE. I’ve had one in my handbag constantly since that trip. It’s not crazy-thick, but the hydration is pretty amazing, and it smells so good. Anyway, my hands have been in a fickle state, so I’ve been reaching for this more than usual and I’ve got to say, it’s one of the best hand lotions I’ve ever used.

 

IMG_8029
Earlier in the month I picked up a few of the new Revlon Parfumerie nail enamels and I’ve been reaching for (090) Bordeaux ever since. It’s a typical fall color, but I have sort of fallen in love with the scent after not having been all that fussed to begin with. I feel like the formula is petty great too, and I’ve gotten away with only using one coat and haven’t noticed any streaks. Sold. Again, I can’t seem to find this online, but I’ll update with a link if I can.

 

IMG_8021
After searching and searching for the L’Orèal EverCrème Deep Nourishing Masque, I finally stumbled upon it and immediately added it to my shopping cart. This is a great mask to use during the week for a quick boost of hydration.

 

IMG_8041
I’m not usually a bar soap kind of girl. I just think it’s more hygienic to use a body wash from a bottle. But as I’m generally the only person to use my shower, I thought I’d switch things up when I last needed soap. Anyway, I’d been eyeing the Ology line from Walgreens for several months and just decided what the hell and picked up this three pack of Lemon Grass & Olive Oil Triple Milled Soap. It’s pretty great, guys. It smells so fresh and nice, and my skin never feels tight after I use it. I like that it’s sulfate and paraben free, obviously, so for now, I’ll be sticking with this.

 

IMG_8035
As for my non-beauty favorites, I’ve been really into this necklace I picked up on the cheap from Kmart a couple weeks ago. It’s from their new Niki Minaj line, which is sort of embarrassing as I dislike everything about her and think she’s a terrible influence on society and pop culture, but that’s beside the point. Geometric necklaces are a dime a dozen these days, but I liked the color blocking on this one, and also that the chain is so long, so I can wear it with high neck or v-neck shirts and it still looks great.

 

IMG_8037
I’ve recently started rotating my wardrobe and scarves have become an absolute necessity in the mornings (finally!!). This infinity scarf, from Forever 21, is probably the greatest one I own (aside from the ones my grandma crochets for me haha). I just love the rich gold color and chunky knit, and it looks great with so many outfits. I’m not sure they sell it anymore, but as far as scarves go, Forever 21 isn’t a bad place to shop.

 

Anyway, that’s it for October! I cannot believe it’s already November. Let the holiday season begin!!

Leave a Reply

