Top Coat Battle: Julep Quick Dry Drops vs. Seche Vite Quick Dry Top Coat

IMG_8823

 

A couple weeks ago I raved about Julep’s TaDa! Quick Dry drops, and truly, they are pretty amazing. But then I thought to myself, How do these really stack up to my favorite quick dry top coat, Seche Vite?

So I painted my nails with 3 different polishes from different brands, all with different finishes, and topped one hand with this Revlon top coat, and the Julep Quick Dry drops, and the other with the Seche Vite quick dry top coat.

To be honest, the results were very similar. Both the QDD and the QDTC dry almost immediately, but how fast they dry the subsequent layers of polish varied slightly, with the Seche Vite coming out the winner.

Seche Vite also offered much more shine on its own than the Julep drops with the Revlon top coat, which dulled the blue color I was wearing a bit, and Seche Vite is much thicker than the Julep drops, so it just gave my nails much more polished look (pun intended, hehe).

In terms of tip wear and chipping, again, I felt like the results were very similar. I got about 3 days without any tip damage, and decided to let it go another day. The next day I did some very intense hair treatments and all the scrubbing and washing took a toll on my nails, but again, the chipping was pretty evenly spread between the two.

A final point I’ll mention is cost. A bottle of the Julep Quick Dry drops will cost you $14.00 for one ounce. You will get quite a bit of use from it, but you’ll need to add in the additional cost of whatever top coat you’re going to use with it. With Seche Vite, you’ll spend anywhere from $9.52 – $18.98 per ounce, though it comes in a .5 ounce bottle ($4.76 – $9.49 per bottle). So if you’re willing to shop around, you’re likely going to get a better deal on the Seche Vite top coat.

I’m declaring the winner of this battle to be Seche Vite quick dry top coat. It really is a fantastic product, and I’ve yet to meet somebody who has something negative to say about it. That said, the Julep Quick Dry drops are a very close second. Anything that allows me to be a functioning person in the world within an hour of doing my nails has my stamp of approval.

Leave a Reply

